The Resource London rain, Nicola Upson

London rain, Nicola Upson

Label
London rain
Title
London rain
Statement of responsibility
Nicola Upson
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "Intrepid writer and amateur sleuth Josephine Tey returns in this sixth installment of Nicola Upson's popular series--perfect for fans of Agatha Christie's Hercule Poirot and Jaqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs--that unfolds in 1930s London as England prepares to crown a new king. London, 1937. Following the gloomy days of the abdication of King Edward VIII, the entire city is elated to welcome King George. Just one of the many planned festivities for the historic coronation is a BBC radio adaptation of Queen of Scots, and the original playwright, Josephine Tey, has been invited to sit in on rehearsals. Soon, however, Josephine gets wrapped up in another sort of drama. The lead actress has been sleeping with Britain's most venerable newsman, Anthony Beresford--and his humiliated wife happens to work in the building. The sordid affair seems to reach its bloody climax when Beresford is shot to death in his broadcasting booth at the deafening height of the coronation ceremony. Josephine's dear friend, Detective Chief Inspector Archie Penrose, has the case wrapped up before long. But when a second, seemingly related murder throws Penrose for a loop, it falls to Josephine to unravel a web of betrayal, jealousy, and long-held secrets ... caught all the while in a love triangle of her own making. Charming and provocative, thick with the atmosphere of prewar England, London Rain is a captivating portrait of a city on the edge--and an unforgettable woman always one step ahead of her time"--
  • "May, 1937, London: The country is still reeling from Edward VIII's shocking decision to abdicate the throne in order to marry the woman he loves, Wallis Simpson. As London prepares for the historic Coronation of his brother, George, bestselling writer Josephine Tey is in town to oversee a BBC radio production of her play, Queen of Scots. When one of the BBC's best-known broadcasters is murdered at the height of the Coronation celebrations, Josephine has a front row seat. Detective Chief Inspector Archie Penrose is called to investigate--and then another killing occurs. The victim? The leading actress in Josephine's play, who happened to be the broadcaster's mistress. Adultery, treachery, and pent-up jealousies clearly haunt the BBC, suggesting the motive lies close to home, but Josephine suspects that the killings are linked to a decade-old scandal. His hands tied by bureaucracy and his attention taken by another, seemingly unrelated death, Archie is unable to solve the case. It's up to Josephine to untangle a long-hidden web of love, deceit and betrayal. As her own relationship with Marta Fox reaches a turning point, she must confront the consequences of romance gone awry"--
Member of
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Upson, Nicola
Dewey number
823/.92
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR6121.P76
LC item number
L66 2016
Literary form
fiction
Series statement
A new mystery featuring Josephine Tey
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Tey, Josephine
  • Tey, Josephine
  • Women dramatists
  • Murder
  • Murder
  • Women dramatists
  • Scotland
Label
London rain, Nicola Upson
Instantiates
Publication
Note
"First published in Great Britain in 2015 by Faber & Faber."
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
21 cm.
Edition
First U.S. edition.
Extent
329 pages
Isbn
9780062418159
Lccn
2015026889
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • 1037489
  • (OCoLC)913332623
  • 999073
  • (OCoLC)ocn913332623
  • 999073
  • 1037489
  • 1037489
Label
London rain, Nicola Upson
Publication
Note
"First published in Great Britain in 2015 by Faber & Faber."
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
21 cm.
Edition
First U.S. edition.
Extent
329 pages
Isbn
9780062418159
Lccn
2015026889
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • 1037489
  • (OCoLC)913332623
  • 999073
  • (OCoLC)ocn913332623
  • 999073
  • 1037489
  • 1037489

Library Locations

  • Arlington LibraryBorrow it
    135 N Washington Ave, Arlington, WA, 98223-1422, US
    48.193360 -122.118393
  • Brier LibraryBorrow it
    23303 Brier Rd, Brier, WA, 98036-8247, US
    47.787037 -122.273614
  • Camano Island LibraryBorrow it
    848 N. Sunrise Blvd, Camano Island, WA, 98282-8770, US
    48.241210 -122.456128
  • Clinton LibraryBorrow it
    4781 Deer Lake Rd, Clinton, WA, 98236-0530, US
    47.978860 -122.358385
  • Coupeville LibraryBorrow it
    788 NW Alexander St, Coupeville, WA, 98239-0745, US
    48.219333 -122.688461
  • Darrington LibraryBorrow it
    1005 Cascade St, Darrington, WA, 98241-0025, US
    48.2546653 -121.6061872
  • Edmonds LibraryBorrow it
    650 Main St, Edmonds, WA, 98020-3056, US
    47.810102 -122.372921
  • Freeland LibraryBorrow it
    5495 Harbor Ave, Freeland, WA, 98249-1357, US
    48.011719 -122.523824
  • Granite Falls LibraryBorrow it
    815 E Galena St, Granite Falls, WA, 98252-8472, US
    48.082609 -121.9596561
  • Lake StevensBorrow it
    1804 Main St, Lake Stevens, WA, 98258-0217, US
    48.014012 -122.064432
  • Lakewood/Smokey Point LibraryBorrow it
    3411 169th Place NE, Arlington, WA, 98223, US
    48.1502268 -122.186305
  • Langley LibraryBorrow it
    104 2nd St, Langley, WA, 98260-0265, US
    48.040070 -122.406487
  • Lynnwood LibraryBorrow it
    19200 44th Ave W, Lynnwood, WA, 98036-5617, US
    47.824073 -122.293133
  • Mariner LibraryBorrow it
    520 128th St. SW Suites A9 & A10, Granite Falls, WA, 98204, US
    47.880604 -122.2417068
  • Marysville LibraryBorrow it
    6120 Grove St, Marysville, WA, 98270-4127, US
    48.063543 -122.147755
  • Mill Creek LibraryBorrow it
    15429 Bothell Everett Hwy, Mill Creek, WA, 98012-1212, US
    47.857655 -122.218219
  • Monroe LibraryBorrow it
    1070 Village Way, Monroe, WA, 98272-2035, US
    47.848817 -121.983236
  • Mountlake Terrace LibraryBorrow it
    23300 58th Ave W, Mountlake Terrace, WA, 98043-4630, US
    47.787069 -122.311597
  • Mukilteo LibraryBorrow it
    4675 Harbour Pointe Blvd, Mukilteo, WA, 98275-4725, US
    47.905749 -122.297175
  • Oak Harbor LibraryBorrow it
    1000 SE Regatta Dr, Oak Harbor, WA, 98277-3091, US
    48.289869 -122.634562
  • Sno-Isle BookmobileBorrow it
  • Snohomish LibraryBorrow it
    311 Maple Ave., Snohomish, WA, 98290-2525, US
    47.915298 -122.088401
  • Stanwood LibraryBorrow it
    9701 271st St NW, Stanwood, WA, 98292-8097, US
    48.242376 -122.364280
  • Sultan LibraryBorrow it
    319 Main St, #100, Sultan, WA, 98294-0580, US
    47.862518 -121.816875
Processing Feedback ...