The Resource The Locals, Jonathan Dee, (electronic resource)

The Locals, Jonathan Dee, (electronic resource)

Label
The Locals
Title
The Locals
Statement of responsibility
Jonathan Dee
Creator
Contributor
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
"Summons up a small American town at precisely the right moment in our history . . . a bold, vital, and view-expanding novel."?George Saunders A rural working-class New England town elects as its mayor a New York hedge fund millionaire in this inspired novel for our times?fiction in the tradition of Jonathan Franzen and Jennifer Egan. Mark Firth is a contractor and home restorer in Howland, Massachusetts, who feels opportunity passing his family by. After being swindled by a financial advisor, what future can Mark promise his wife, Karen, and their young daughter, Haley? He finds himself envying the wealthy weekenders in his community whose houses sit empty all winter. Philip Hadi used to be one of these people. But in the nervous days after 9/11 he flees New York and hires Mark to turn his Howland home into a year-round "secure location" from which he can manage billions of dollars of other people's money. The collision of these two men's very different worlds?rural vs. urban, middle class vs. wealthy?is the engine of Jonathan Dee's powerful new novel. Inspired by Hadi, Mark looks around for a surefire investment: the mid-decade housing boom. Over Karen's objections, and teaming up with his troubled brother, Gerry, Mark starts buying up local property with cheap debt. Then the town's first selectman dies suddenly, and Hadi volunteers for office. He soon begins subtly transforming Howland in his image?with unexpected results for Mark and his extended family. Here are the dramas of twenty-first-century America?rising inequality, working class decline, a new authoritarianism?played out in the classic setting of some of our greatest novels: the small town. The Locals is that rare work of fiction capable of capturing a fraught American moment in real time. Praise for The Locals "After 9/11, New York hedge fund billionaire Philip Hadi retreats to his summer home in the Berkshires. In thrall to his new town, he runs for office to keep it sleepy, sweet and free from tax hikes. Is he benevolent, arrogant or both? No one gets off the moral hook in this propulsive, brilliantly observed study." ? People (Book of the Week) "Thoughtful . . . [Jonathan Dee's] prescient sensitivity has never been more unnerving. . . . Amid the heat of today's vicious political climate, The Locals is a smoke alarm. Listen up." ?Ron Charles, The Washington Post "Captivating . . . [Dee's] knowing gaze and elegant writing work well throughout The Locals , which is infused with a sense of desperation and dread. His characters are vivid, and the emotions raw." ? USA Today "Addictive reading . . . [Dee] captures the deeply ingrained resentment and disillusion that seem to define the present moment. . . . Like the novels of Jonathan Franzen, The Locals confidently sutures broad social travails with individual destinies." ? The Wall Street Journal
Accompanying matter
technical information on music
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Dee, Jonathan
Form of composition
not applicable
Format of music
not applicable
Literary text for sound recordings
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorDate
1964-
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
  • Newbern, George
  • Porter, Ray
  • OverDrive, Inc
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Fiction
  • Literature
Transposition and arrangement
not applicable
Label
The Locals, Jonathan Dee, (electronic resource)
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
stereophonic
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
unknown
Stock number
3247F4E7-CC73-4D44-B200-AE38A01A969B
System details
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
  • OverDrive Listen
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable
Label
The Locals, Jonathan Dee, (electronic resource)
Link
Publication
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
stereophonic
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
unknown
Stock number
3247F4E7-CC73-4D44-B200-AE38A01A969B
System details
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
  • OverDrive Listen
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable

Library Locations

  • Arlington LibraryBorrow it
    135 N Washington Ave, Arlington, WA, 98223-1422, US
    48.193360 -122.118393
  • Brier LibraryBorrow it
    23303 Brier Rd, Brier, WA, 98036-8247, US
    47.787037 -122.273614
  • Camano Island LibraryBorrow it
    848 N. Sunrise Blvd, Camano Island, WA, 98282-8770, US
    48.241210 -122.456128
  • Clinton LibraryBorrow it
    4781 Deer Lake Rd, Clinton, WA, 98236-0530, US
    47.978860 -122.358385
  • Coupeville LibraryBorrow it
    788 NW Alexander St, Coupeville, WA, 98239-0745, US
    48.219333 -122.688461
  • Darrington LibraryBorrow it
    1005 Cascade St, Darrington, WA, 98241-0025, US
    48.2546653 -121.6061872
  • Edmonds LibraryBorrow it
    650 Main St, Edmonds, WA, 98020-3056, US
    47.810102 -122.372921
  • Freeland LibraryBorrow it
    5495 Harbor Ave, Freeland, WA, 98249-1357, US
    48.011719 -122.523824
  • Granite Falls LibraryBorrow it
    815 E Galena St, Granite Falls, WA, 98252-8472, US
    48.082609 -121.9596561
  • Lake StevensBorrow it
    1804 Main St, Lake Stevens, WA, 98258-0217, US
    48.014012 -122.064432
  • Lakewood/Smokey Point LibraryBorrow it
    3411 169th Place NE, Arlington, WA, 98223, US
    48.1502268 -122.186305
  • Langley LibraryBorrow it
    104 2nd St, Langley, WA, 98260-0265, US
    48.040070 -122.406487
  • Lynnwood LibraryBorrow it
    19200 44th Ave W, Lynnwood, WA, 98036-5617, US
    47.824073 -122.293133
  • Mariner LibraryBorrow it
    520 128th St. SW Suites A9 & A10, Granite Falls, WA, 98204, US
    47.880604 -122.2417068
  • Marysville LibraryBorrow it
    6120 Grove St, Marysville, WA, 98270-4127, US
    48.063543 -122.147755
  • Mill Creek LibraryBorrow it
    15429 Bothell Everett Hwy, Mill Creek, WA, 98012-1212, US
    47.857655 -122.218219
  • Monroe LibraryBorrow it
    1070 Village Way, Monroe, WA, 98272-2035, US
    47.848817 -121.983236
  • Mountlake Terrace LibraryBorrow it
    23300 58th Ave W, Mountlake Terrace, WA, 98043-4630, US
    47.787069 -122.311597
  • Mukilteo LibraryBorrow it
    4675 Harbour Pointe Blvd, Mukilteo, WA, 98275-4725, US
    47.905749 -122.297175
  • Oak Harbor LibraryBorrow it
    1000 SE Regatta Dr, Oak Harbor, WA, 98277-3091, US
    48.289869 -122.634562
  • Sno-Isle BookmobileBorrow it
  • Snohomish LibraryBorrow it
    311 Maple Ave., Snohomish, WA, 98290-2525, US
    47.915298 -122.088401
  • Stanwood LibraryBorrow it
    9701 271st St NW, Stanwood, WA, 98292-8097, US
    48.242376 -122.364280
  • Sultan LibraryBorrow it
    319 Main St, #100, Sultan, WA, 98294-0580, US
    47.862518 -121.816875
Processing Feedback ...